School of Rock – Day 15 – Celebration and Reflection

SUMMARY

  • I took a school of rock class where I learned the basics of guitars. I also learned about collaboration and online music making websites

LEADERSHIP ACTIVITY

Composition Elements

  • I  enjoyed writing the baseline but I think I enjoyed collaborating the most. It was an interesting challenge to collaborate with some people that I don’t know online (and my sister). I enjoyed using websites such as trello and soundtrap.

How interested were you in learning the leadership project?

  • 5

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

  • Write a reflection on what you learned.

How interested were you in learning about music theory and song analysis?

 

  • Your score: 4

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

    • Write a reflection on what you learned.

How interested were you in learning about HookLab and HookTab?

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: ?

PRACTICE ROOM (GUITAR LESSONS)

  • I enjoyed learning the different notes and frets on the guitar. I also liked making up songs.

How interested were you in learning to play the guitar?

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 5

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

  • My favorite topic that I learned about was the nature of sound and silence. I really enjoyed the  podcast the first day about silence. I learned that silence was not the absence of sound but the absence of unnatural sounds. Like listening to the nature sounds in the woods would be silence.

How interested were you in learning about topics related to the brain, creativity, and productivity?

  • 3 (sorta interested)

Your score: 3

STUDIO (SONGWRITING)

I enjoyed learning how to use sound-trap and how to record different tracks. I also liked learning about the various aspects of songs.

How interested were you in learning about songwriting, song structure, and music production?

Your score: 5

CONTROL ROOM (RECORDING & MIXING)

  • I enjoyed learning how to use funklet and how to export various beats.

How interested were you in learning about recording, engineering (sound effects, EQ), and mixing?

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 4

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • I started this class with no experience with the guitar. Over time I learned about online tools to create music, music theory and the guitar basics. I practiced a lot on the guitar to get a hang of playing chords. I also played the bass a little bit. It was hard for me to record a baseline for the leadership project because I had difficulties with the recording software in sound-trap. I eventually worked by way around it.

THE COURSE’s ACTIVITY EVALUATION (OVERALL)

Content (The WHAT)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 5

I really enjoyed learning about music theory.

I learned about the nature of sound of how nature sounds can be considered true silence.

Process (The HOW)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 5

I liked the zoom meeting where we could ask you questions and I loved the room system. 

I didn’t like that I had to get up (relativly) early for the meetings but that is more my fault.

If I took the class again I would have a leadership project the second week two.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *