School of Rock Day Four-Harmony Basics

School of Rock – Day 4 – Harmony Basics

SUMMARY

Today I learned about Harmony. I also learned how to play some chords on the guitar and hookpad.

CLASSROOM

Watch How Harmony Works (47 minutes)

Drone is a continuous note. Some drones are independant of the tone

Harmonics are hidden notes

In a minor triad, the middle note is a half step higher or lower

passing notes create dissonance

7th chord is adding a new note to a chord

 

LAB

This activity went well and I had fun writing different chords in hookpad.

PRACTICE ROOM

  • I am making progress on learning the notes on the Guitar but I need to practice a lot more. I will practice more later today.

OUTSIDE / JOURNAL / IDEAS

  • Tonic (1 and 8 chords)
    • Root note creates a feeling of resolution and stability
  • Supertonic, Mediant, Submediant (2, 3, 6 chords)
    • Moderate tension, useful for transitions
  • Dominant, Subdominant, Leading Tone (4, 5, 7 chords)
    • Create lots of tension to get to the tonic

Mr. Le Duc’s Key of C Major Notes and Chords Chart (PDF)

STUDIO

This activity went relatively well but I need a lot more practice with chords.

CONTROL ROOM

Tune your guitar. Try recording two tracks of guitar.  One with the single notes like Jake Lizzio showed you above and a second with the lower C bass notes to make a simple progression. Remember two notes playing at the same time is harmonyKeep it simple.  Refer to your Quizlet Guitar Strings / Notes Flashcards if you need help remembering the guitar notes on the first three frets. Set a timer. Stop playing before you feel like Chewbacca below.

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

I learned about melody and chords today.Today my biggest challenge was learning how to play chords on the guitar and I am still learning. I am making progress and I will practice more today. I enjoyed watching the Howard Goodall video and I found it very informative. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *