School of Rock Day 2-Basics and Foundations

School or Rock – Day 2 – Basics and Foundations

SUMMARY

Today I learned about music theory and structure. I learned more about soundtrap.com and guitar rigs.

CLASSROOM

Write notes of topics you want to remember.

  • Notes are different frequencies of vibrations
  • majority of music is made up of only 12 notes
  • the formula of a major scale is whole whole whole half whole whole whole half
  • major chords are 4 apart than three
  • minor chords are three then four apart
  • use number system for chords
  • add melody notes that are part of the chord
  • pentatonic scale has five notes

LAB

Explore some more songs at https://www.hooktheory.com/theorytab/charts/chart/top

A lot of the happy songs such as Take on Me and Shake it Off had a faster tempo of around 160 bpm. Most of the sad songs were around 120 bpm like Cryin’ by Aerosmith. The Keys of the songs varied a lot depending on genre but I noticed that many sad songs were in the key of F. I noticed a lot of major chords in happy or triumphant songs and a lot of minor chords in sad ones.

 

PRACTICE ROOM

Watch these videos and connect your guitar to Soundtrap and get some sound happening. Have fun exploring audio options.

  • This process was a little confusing at first but eventually I got the hang of it. 

JOURNAL

Today my nemesis was motivation and my goal was to get my work done. It was a challenge to stay motivated to do all of my work on time. I did enjoy getting outside on the walk. It was very relaxing.

STUDIO

Finish Soundtrap.com expert training here…and play with your guitar.

https://academy.soundtrap.com/p/soundtrap-expert

I finished the training yesterday.

CONTROL ROOM

  • This is a very complicated software but I think that I am starting to understand the basics of it.

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

Today I enjoyed learning about music theory. I was also exited to finally get my hands on the guitar. It was interesting to study individual songs on soundtrap and look for patterns in them. It made me think about the structure of music.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *